POP Seminar: S.Huang, Shrestha, and Easey on Thurs, Apr 15, 2021

POP Seminar Announcement 04.15.21Please join us Thursday, 04/15/2021 for POP Research seminar of the Spring 2021, held from 11:45 am-1:15 pm in Communicore, Room C1-04, or via Zoom. We will be welcoming   Shu Huang, MS, MPH,    Nistha Shrestha , MPH, BS Pharm,   and   Taylor Easey, BS   as our seminar speakers.

Shu Huang, MS, MPH obtained her MS degree in Biotechnology at Johns Hopkins University, and an MPH degree in Biostatistics at Yale school of public health. Her current research interests are in suicide prediction modeling, chronic pain, opioid overdose, and machine learning. Her seminar title presented is: A systematic review of suicide risk factors among patients with pain conditions.” Mentor/Advisor: Dr. Wei-Hsuan “Jenny” Lo-Ciganic.

Nistha Shrestha, MPH, BS Pharm is a first-year Ph.D. student at the POP department at the University of Florida. She has a background in pharmacy and has worked as a research pharmacist in Nepal for two years. Nistha has completed her Master’s in Public Health in Epidemiology from the University of North Texas Health Science Center. She is interested in pharmacoepidemiologic studies in older adults. Her research interests include cognitive impairment, polypharmacy, and infectious diseases. Her seminar title presented is: Comparative Effectiveness of High-Dose and Standard-dose influenza vaccine among older adults.” Mentor/advisor is Dr. Scott Vouri.

Taylor Easey, BS , originally from the city of Sarasota, FL., is a third-year pharmacy student here at the University of Florida, set to graduate in spring of 2022. He earned his Bachelor of Science here at the University of Florida in biochemistry in 2018. Taylor is also founding student member of the department of pharmaceutical outcomes and policy’s opioid workgroup. His seminar title presented is: Impact of Opioid Acute Pain Limitation Laws on Opioid Overdose Deaths.” Mentor/advisor is Dr. Juan Hincapie-Castillo.

To join the meeting: Please contact Katherine Morris, Motomori Lewis,  or Valarie Jackson for the Zoom link and password.