POP Faculty and Student Receive APhA’s Wiederholt Prize

December 7, 2012- The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) announced this week that Dr. Carole Kimberlin,  Professor in Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy (POP), along with her colleagues Dr. Almut Winterstein, Professor in POP, and Stephan Linden, a doctoral student in POP, have been selected to receive the 2013  Wiederholt Prize.

The Wiederholt Prize is awarded to recognize the best paper published in the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA), within the past two calendar years, describing original investigation in the areas of economic, social, or administrative sciences. Established in 1996 as the APhA Best Published Paper Award for Economic, Social, and Administrative Sciences, this award was renamed in 2002 as the Wiederholt Prize in honor of Joseph B. Wiederholt, PhD, the first recipient of the award.

Kimberlin and her colleagues are being recognized for the paper titled “Patient counseling practices in U.S. pharmacies: effects of having pharmacists hand the medication to the patient and state regulations on pharmacist counseling,” which was published in the July-August 2011 issue of the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA).  The research paper focuses on oral counseling practices for new prescriptions, and how it’s affected by state regulation, pharmacy and pharmacist characteristics, and environmental factors.

The award will be presented at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition, which will be held March 1-4, 2013 in Los Angeles, CA.