Graduate and Post-doctoral Pharmacy Students Compete at the 25th Annual Research Showcase

February 2012

By Linda Homewood

Poster winner, Caitrin McDonough listens to Taimour Langaee, Ph.D., a research associate professor of pharmacotherapy and translational research during the poster judging session.

The University of Florida College of Pharmacy on Feb.16, held its 25th Annual Research Showcase and Awards Recognition day. Keynote Speaker Maria Miralles, Ph.D., a senior pharmaceutical management advisor for the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), provided insight into the Global Heath research objectives and funding opportunities for investigators through the USAID. A UF alumna, Miralles received her doctorate in pharmaceutical science in 1992 from the college’s department of pharmaceutical outcomes and policy.

Oral competition winners each receive a $600 cash award, and finalists each receive a $300 cash award. In addition, all awardees receive a commemorative plaque.


Oral Competition Winners

Senior Division
  • Daniela Conrado, Pharmaceutics: “Pharmacokinetic-Pharmacodynamic Modeling of Armodafinil: Effects on Electroencephalogram and Neurocognition of Sleep Deprived Adults”
Junior Division
  • Rana Montaser, Medicinal Chemistry: “Drugs from the Sea: Chemical and Biological Characterization of Novel Fatty Acid Derivatives from the Guamanian Marine Cyanobacteria Lyngbya spp.”
Levitt Division
  • Steven Bird, Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy: “Risk of Venous Thromboembolism with Drospirenone: A Population-based Comparative-safety Study”

Oral Competition Finalists

Senior Division
  • Yue Liu, Pharmacodynamics: “Involvement of Mitochondrial Complexes in Divalent Manganese-stimulated Release of Hydrogen Peroxide in Microglial Cells”
  • Rui Wang, Medicinal Chemistry: “Biological Mode of Action Study of a Small Molecule Inducer of the Antioxidant Response Element”
Junior Division
  • Bhargava Kandala, Pharmaceutics: “Design and Analysis of Pharmacodynamic Crossover Studies Conducted to Establish Bioequivalence of Inhaled Corticosteroids”
  • Lilibeth Salvador, Medicinal Chemistry: “Novel Bioactive Natural Products from the Marine Cyanobacterium Symploca sp. as Leads for Drug Discovery”
Levitt Division
  • Efe Eworuke, Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy: “Drug Utilization Patterns for Routine Therapies in Patients with Cystic Fibrosis”

Poster Competition Winners

Winners each receive a $300 cash award.

Professional Student Division
  • Joseph Pardo, Shands at the University of Florida: “Analysis of the Time-to-Positivity of Blood Cultures at a Tertiary Care Hospital: Antimicrobial Stewardship Implications”
Graduate Student Division
  • Mong-Jen Chen, Pharmaceutics: “A Novel Approach of Regenerative Medicine for the Treatment of Alpha 1 Antitrypsin Deficiency”
  • Krishnakanth Kondabolu, Medicinal Chemistry: “Preclinical Antipsychotic Efficacy of Novel Phenylaminotetralin (PAT) Analogs Acting at Serotonin 5-HT2 Receptors”
Post-doctoral Fellow Division
  • Caitrin McDonough, Pharmacotherapy and Translational Research: “Non-synonymous SNPs in SELE, SELP, and SIGLEC12 Associated with Cardiovascular (CV) Outcomes in the INternational VErapamil SR-Trandolapril STudy GENEtic Substudy (INVEST-GENES)”

This year’s research showcase was made possible through support of these sponsors: Drug & Biotechnology Development, LLC. (Dr. Robert and Maria Bell, class of 1988); Nanotherapeutics, Inc., (Dr. James Talton, class of 1999); Dr. Robert A. and Phyllis Levitt (class of 1961); DENALI BioTechnologies, LLC. (Dr. Maureen McKenzie); Debbie Klapp Memorial Endowment; Dr. David W. Newton (class of 1976); Dr. Gwen (Victoria) DeLeon (class of 1994); Dr. Yan Gong (faculty and class of 2004); Dr. Christian Hampp (class of 2009); Dr. H. Thomas Karnes (class of 1984); Dr. Teresa Kauf (faculty); Dr. Raymond Jurgens (class of 1973); and Dr. James Sacco (class of 2006).